Brazil join teams qualified for Women's U20 World Championship


The Dominican Republic won the Women's U20 World Championship in Puerto Rico in 2015

Lausanne, Switzerland, November 1, 2016 - Following the victory of Brazil at the South American Women's U20 Championship in Uberaba, Brazil on October 30, the teams qualified for the 2017 FIVB Volleyball Women's U20 World Championship in Boca del Rio and Cordoba, Mexico from July 7 to 16 are Brazil (South America), the Dominican Republic (NORCECA Confederation), China and Japan (Asia). 

In all, 16 teams will qualify for the 2017 edition of the Women's U20 World Championship, including two from each of the five continental confederations and five teams from the world ranking to be decided at the beginning of 2017. They will join the hosts (Mexico), who qualify automatically.

*Qualified teams in green

The following table summarises the number of berths per confederation for each of the 2017 Age-Category World Championships.

The 2017 Women's U20 World Championship will be the 19th edition of the competition which first took place in Sao Paulo, Brazil in 1977. The Dominican Republic claimed gold in 2015. Brazil have won the title a record six times.

Quick link:
FIVB Volleyball Women's U20 World Championship Puerto Rico 2015