Velasco reveals 14 players for Vesuvio Cup and World League


Sebastian Sole is part of the 14-player roster of Julio Velasco that will participate at the Vesuvio Cup and the FIVB Volleyball World League

Buenos Aires, Argentina, May 19, 2017 – Argentina coach Julio Velasco released the initial list of players that will launch the men’s national team campaign for the 2017 season.

Velasco revealed the names of the 14 players that will participate at the Vesuvio Cup in Naples, Italy, before they begin their quest in Group 1 of the 2017 FIVB Volleyball World League.

The 14 players will travel to Naples on Wednesday, May 24, for the Vesuvio Cup, where they will face Italy and Japan. 

Velasco had to preserve three players – Nicolas Lazo, Bruno Lima and Fabian Flores – who are still recovering from injuries. The three players will not be part of the first segment of the season and will stay in Buenos Aires for rehabilitation.

In the World League, Argentina will play hosts Russia, Bulgaria and France in Kazan from June 2 to 4. The South American squad will then move to Tehran to face defending champions Serbia, Belgium and Iran from June 9 to 11; before they host Serbia, Brazil and Bulgaria at Cordoba from June 16 to 19.

Argentina men’s national team line-up
Maximiliano Cavanna – setter 
Demian Gonzalez – setter
German Johansen – opposite
Santiago Darraidou – opposite 
Pablo Crer – middle blocker
Martin Ramos – middle blocker
Sebastian Sole – middle blocker
Facundo Imhoff – middle blocker
Nicolas Bruno – outside spiker
Alejandro Toro – outside spiker
Cristian Poglajen – outside spiker
Gonzalo Quiroga – outside spiker
Alexis Gonzalez – libero
Ignacio Fernandez – libero

Argentina team officials
Julio Velasco – coach
Julian Alvarez – assistant coach
Hernan Ferraro – assistant coach
Jose Saucedo – statistician
Nicolas Zarate – trainer
Aldo Bustos – team doctor
Sebastian Carotti – therapist
Osvaldo Celia – team manager