Argentina set for 2017 Men's U21 World Championship


Russia defeated Argentina to win the Men's U21 World Championship in Mexico in 2015

Lausanne, Switzerland, November 2, 2016 - Five teams have now qualified for the 2017 edition of the FIVB Volleyball Men's U21 World Championship and will join hosts the Czech Republic in Brno and Ceske Budejovice from June 23 to July 2. Argentina became the latest team to qualify after winning the South American U21 Men's Championship in Bariloche, Argentina which ended on October 23.

Joining South American U21 champions Argentina are the United States (winners of the NORCECA Men's U21 Championship), Egypt (winners of the African Men's U21 Championship), and Asian U21 winners and runners-up China and Iran.

A total of sixteen teams will compete in next year's World Championship, including two teams from each of the five continental confederations and five teams from the world ranking to be decided at the beginning of 2017. They will join the Czech Republic, who qualify for the competition automatically as hosts.

*Qualified teams in green
**A second African berth will be attributed following the next meeting of the FIVB Sports Events Council

The table below summarises the number of berths per confederation for each of the 2017 Age-Category World Championships.

The 2017 Men's U21 World Championship will be the 19th edition of the competition which first took place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 1977. Russia claimed gold in 2015 and - with predecessors the USSR - have claimed a record nine titles. Brazil have five titles to their name.

Quick link:
FIVB Volleyball Men's U21 World Championship Mexico 2015