FIVB announces list of candidates for first-ever FIVB Athletes’ Commission Elections

16 candidates will compete for the votes

The FIVB today confirmed the final list of eligible candidates for the first-ever FIVB Athletes’ Commission Elections following the closure of the open application process.

The FIVB Athletes’ Commission will be composed of ten members, five of which will be elected by the players and five appointed by the FIVB President. The Athletes’ Commission shall also have equal gender representation amongst its membership, with the same number of representatives from volleyball and beach volleyball.

The application process for candidatures was open to all National Federations to nominate their respective candidate. With 11 female and 5 male eligible candidates now confirmed, it will be the responsibility of the players to elect their Commission representatives. The elections are due to take place through a secured online voting platform during the last two weeks of January 2021. A total of eight volleyball and eight beach volleyball players are running in the hope of joining the prestigious FIVB Athletes’ Commission. Between them, the candidates have nine Olympic medals and ten World Championships podium appearances and have collectively participated in 58 World Championships along with other key FIVB events.

The full list of candidates can be found below:

Louise Bawden (AUS) – beach volleyball

Joshua Binstock (CAN) - beach volleyball

Julius Brink (GER) – beach volleyball

Milagros Cabral de la Cruz (DOM) - volleyball

Neslihan Demir Güler (TUR) - volleyball

Sam Deroo (BEL) - volleyball

Małgorzata Glinka-Mogentale (POL) - volleyball

Jordan Larson (USA) - volleyball

Meppelink Madelein (NED) – beach volleyball

Ognjenovic Maja (SRB) - volleyball

Samuele Papi (ITA) - volleyball

Polina Rahimova  (AZE) – volleyball

Marketa Slukova Nausch (CZE) – beach volleyball

Delcio Soares (MOZ) – beach volleyball

Anouk Vergé-Depré (SUI) – beach volleyball

Chen Xue (CHN) – beach volleyball

Further information will be provided early next year on how the players will be able to vote. For updates, please follow the dedicated FIVB Players page