Qatari beach volleyball duo and Qatar Volleyball Association take home awards at QOC Sports Excellence Awards

The QVA and Qatar’s Cherif Younousse and Ahmed Tijan take home Golden Federation and Men’s Team of the Year awards

The Qatar Volleyball Association (QVA) and Qatari beach volleyball duo of Cherif Younousse and Ahmed Tijan last week picked up two awards at this year’s Qatar Olympic Committee (QOC) Sports Excellence Awards which were held in Doha.

The ceremony, attended by QOC President H.E. Sheikh Joaan bin Hamad Al Thani, saw Qatar’s athletes, administrators, sport personalities and sports organisations, honoured for their efforts to support sport in Qatar over the past year.

In particular, the performance of Team Qatar at this year’s Olympic and Paralympic Games Tokyo 2020 was highlighted as the best-ever in the nation’s sporting history. Qatar took home four medals in total, two gold and two bronze, including Cherif Younousse and Ahmed Tijan who won Qatar’s first beach volleyball Olympic medal by beating Latvia's Martins Plavins and Edgars Tocs in the bronze-medal match.

For their incredible Olympic journey and elite performance throughout this year’s FIVB Beach Volleyball World Tour, Younousse and Tijan were honoured with the Men’s Team of the Year Award at the QOC Sports Excellence Awards.

QOC President H.E. Sheikh Joaan bin Hamad Al Thani presents award to QVA President Ali Ghanim Al Kuwari

Meanwhile, the QVA was awarded the Golden Federation Award alongside the Qatar Athletics Federation and Qatar Weightlifting and Fencing Federation. The QVA has continued to promote and develop volleyball and beach volleyball in the country, in addition to hosting international events such as the Katara Beach Volleyball Cup. Qatar is also set to host the King of the Court Crown Series finals at the Aspire Zone early next year. 

Mariano Baracetti receives Coach of the Year Award from QOC President H.E. Sheikh Joaan bin Hamad Al Thani

In addition, Qatar’s beach volleyball coach Mariano Baracetti, who helped guide Younousse and Tijan to their historic bronze medals, took home the Coach of the Year Award.

The full awards list can be found here.